Easter with The Beatles, Manchester United, Sheep & Yoda

It has been a looong time since my last entry! I sincerely apologize but because of that I have a lot to share this time, I hope you like it 🙂

I had three weeks of Easter holidays and spent most of the time working on one of my essays – I came here to study after all, and those who know me know important it is to me to do well just for or the sake of doing well and being happy with myself 😉 However, apart from that I also went to Chester again, had my family visiting me, took a photo with the Champions League trophies, took part in a great graduation ceremony, paid a visit to Penrhyn Castle and saw Manchester United live in the Europa League (and much more)! 😀

My second visit to Chester was as fantastic as my first one, Chester appears to be a rather small town but it is considered to be big enough to have its own Primark and Disney Store. I basically went to the same places I visited last time, but found something new everywhere, have a look at the photos below to find out! 😉

During the first week of my Easter holidays my mum and sister came to visit me for a few days and I was extremely happy about that. We spent most of the time in Bangor (it is small, but it has still a lot to offer) and went on a daytrip to Liverpool, where we went shopping and saw the wonderful Beatles Story – an exhibition about the Beatles. In the Beatles Café I had the most delicious cupcake (blueberry) I have ever eaten in my whole life, so if you ever happen to be there, try it! Have a look at the photos to get some impressions of the exhibition. Moreover, I found Gareth in Liverpool! But not in the exhibition, that would have been a bit…weird.

As mentioned before, I spent most of my Easter holidays working on my essays and therefore spent most of the time in Bangor – but not only inside my room. Especially since the Champions League trophies were travelling around Wales and came to Bangor, where everyone could take a photo with them. What a celebritization (Word says this word does not exist but I am pretty sure I used this term a few years ago in my Cultural Studies paper and got a 1 – so it has to exist! Shame on you, Word!) of objects…

After the holidays at the end of April we had our last compulsory meeting, which was a graduation ceremony especially organized for the international students. I am very grateful for this, I am sure not every university offers this. I am especially happy because in contrast to my diploma ceremony in Vienna I could celebrate this graduation together with friends. 🙂

IMG_3688

Graduation ceremony

A few days later I went to a nearby castle called Penrhyn, which was incredibly beautiful out- and inside (have a look at the photos below).

 

I went there with two of my flatmates and their friends, a few days later my flatmates moved out, this is for you: Thank you for being the flatmates one can only wish for, although we had some difficult times with the mess and Paco (this guy is actually not called Paco, but he was called Paco because we do not know his name) I enjoyed the time with you, especially watching movies and dancing in the kitchen 🙂 I hope you enjoy your time back home, maybe we see each other again and watch Frozen 2 together (with Elsa marrying a woman!). 🙂

I am quite alright here (it is not messy at all, against all expectations o.O), someone new moved in – with all this moving out and moving in I feel a bit like a candidate of Big Brother – or rather I’m A Celebrity…. Get Me Out Of There! (the jungle camp) sometimes if you look into the kitchen…but I guess I haven’t done enough crap to be considered a D-promi and therefore I’m not suitable for such a show…

The first two may weeks were part oft he exam period here and I was lucky to have all my exams and assignments due in those first two weeks. I did not have that much work after all because I had done most things during the holidays. I only had a written and oral exam in Welsh, which was no problem at all and then on the 11th a written exam in the so called Prichard-Jones Hall in the center of the University building. This room is absolutely incredible, I wish I could have taken a photo but I was not allowed to take anything in apart from a bottle and pens. During the exam we were told that if one of our pens falls off the table, we have to call the invigilator to pick it up – another student picking up your pen would be considered cheating, which I found a bit..strange…but ok..here a BA paper is called dissertation so I am not wondering about anything here anymore…. ;-D

On the same day of the exam I was rewarded with a very unique experience, namely watching Manchester United live against Celta de Vigo in an Europa League game in Old Trafford. As you can imagine, there were quite a lot of people around this stadium with more than 75,000 places, but the atmosphere was incredible. I did not understand exactly what the fans were singing (they sang several songs), only “Jose Mourinho”. The game was a good one too, it was very close and after two red cars and two goals it ended with a tie and Manchester United proceeding into the final. It was rather late when the game was over and we had to get back to the city center to catch our (the last) train. When we saw the queue waiting for the Metrolink (tram) we knew we might not make it so we decided to walk, and if we didn’t take the Metrolink at a later station we would not have made it. It reminded me very much of my Brussels run, but this time my leg was fine and I was not alone so it was stressful, but not as bad as in Brussels. However, I will still won’t forget this Manchester night run 😉 And yeah, we made it in the end 🙂

After an exciting but also exhausting night in Manchester we decided to visit one oft he most famous villages of Wales, the town with the longest name – Llanfairpwll­gwyngyllgogery­chwyrndrobwll­llantysilio­gogogoch. It is very close to Bangor actually. You might ask yourself why someone would give a town this name? I was told it was done to get a train station and apparently it worked. And with that comes a Guinness World record, also not bad. The town itself is not very special, but it offers some more or less secret spots, such as a „hidden forest“ with a statue on top, a beach with another statue that can only be reached by passing a graveyard. Have a look at the photos to see what I mean. 😉

I hope you enjoyed reading this blog entry and looking at the photos I made, next time I will write about my visit to the Welsh capital Cardiff and of course include many photos!

Best wishes,

Alexandra

Leave a Reply

